top of page

23 Things You’ll Never Hear a Pro Photographer Say


Here’s a list of 23 things you’ll (probably) never hear coming out of a professional photographer’s mouth.

#1: I love it when clients re-edit my images and then share them on Facebook.

#2: No, no…by all means…you go ahead and pose yourself.

#3: Come on, weather… I need a bright sunny day and NO shade!

#4: I’m sorry you don’t like your new hair cut in these pictures; that’s totally my fault.

#5: Okay, clothing suggestions: you wear stripes; you wear polka dots; you wear a “Hello Kitty” shirt

and you wear a suit.

#6: I wish I could edit this wedding forever.

#7: Are you nuts? Of course I can make a homemade meal for dinner, help with homework, give baths AND edit this mountain of images tonight. All before 8pm.

#8: I keep my prices as low as possible because I enjoy working really hard for less than minimum wage.

#9: I know it’s the middle of the reception and I’ve been working hard for 7 hours, but I really, really don’t want a cold margarita.

#10: Hey, you’re a photographer, too, huh? Well, I was photographing MY client here, but go ahead and take the spot and we’ll go somewhere else.

#11: “Mommy loves it when you get all needy and clingy when she’s on a deadline.”

#12: I am happy to change your album layout as many times as you’d like.

#13: No, please. I don’t want any new equipment.

#14: Make sure to bring your baby in hungry and without a nap.

#15: I didn’t really learn anything, but dammit, I am so happy I spent $1,000 on this workshop anyway.

#16: I’m really thinking that a 30×40 canvas might be too big for you to enjoy.

#17: Are you kidding? I don’t need money…the EXPOSURE I’ll get from this is enough.

#18: Hey, thanks everybody in this Facebook Photography Group for your unsolicited opinions. Keep ‘em coming!

#19: This here is a USB drive and you will pass it down from generation to generation.

#20: It’s no big deal that you were an hour late. I was actually thankful for an hour to play Candy Crush on my phone.

#21: OH! You stole my picture and posted it, pretending like it’s yours. That’s so FUN!

#22: Thank God there’s a DJ at this wedding acting like my second shooter.

#23: OMG! You are SO right. It IS just “pushing a button.”

Have one of your own? Share it with us in the comments below!

About the author: Missy Mwac is a photography satirist, a lover of bacon, a drinker of vodka, a lover of sparkle, and a guide through the murky waters of professional photography. You can connect with her on Tumblr and Facebook. This article was also published here.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page